Location: Filerimos, Ialisos, Rodos, Grecja

Stations of the Cross

At the beginning of the 20th century, Franciscans living in the monastery of Filerimos added Stations of the Cross along the alley leading to the view tower.

1st Station, Jesus is condemned to death.
2nd Station, Jesus carries his cross.
3rd Station, Jesus falls for the first time.
4th Station, Jesus meets his mother.
5th Station, Simon of Cyrene helps Jesus carries the cross.
6th Station, Veronica wipes the face of Jesus.
7th Station, Jesus falls for the second time.
8th Station, Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem. 
9th Station, Jesus falls for the third time.
10th Station, Jesus is stripped of his garments.
11th Station, Crucifixion: Jesus is nailed to the cross.
12th Station, Jesus dies on the cross.
13th Station, Jesus is taken down from the cross.
14th Station, Jesus is laid in the tomb.
Linked to:


  1. These are wonderful outside stations of the cross. I've visited other monasteries that had them but not that big or nice.

  2. ...these are beautiful, I've only seen Stations of the Cross outside a few times.

  3. Nice set of Stations, not something you get here outside

  4. Very meaningful to me, Klars. Thank you so much for showing each station for All Seasons! Have painted most the situations around Jesus' birth on 6-9 inch paintings. If you like to look sometime, they are seen on my artnotes2016 (dot) wordpress (dot) com.
    When you type in the url,
    to navigate to this particular post is to scroll all the way to the bottom
    where you see the titles of the posts (the title is "A Reminder of Christmas") Enjoy!
    Have a lovely summer week Jesh (Junieper)

  5. Thanks for sharing. This is the first time I saw them.

  6. What a wonderful reminder! Thanks for your great images.